General Information


Palawan is located on the western border of the Philippines. Geographically, it is more remote from the other provinces in the country-- in fact, some of its southern islands are closer to Malaysia than to the rest of the Philippines. The waters of the West Philippine Sea lap the western shores of Palawan while the Sulu Sea hugs its eastern coast.

Its provincial limits commence with Busuanga Island, which is 45 nautical miles from Mindoro to the north, the Cuyo Group of Islands in the northeast, Cagayancillo in the East and Spratlys Islands in the west. It ends with Balabac farthest south. The southernmost tip of Balabac, the Mangsee Island, is 48.8 nautical miles from Sabah in North Borneo.


Palawan is subdivided into 23 municipalities, 11 of which are island municipalities. It has 3 congressional districts and 367 barangays. The City of Puerto Princesa used to be a component city of the province but now classified as a Highly Urbanized City (HUC).


Palawan is a narrow archipelago of 1,780 islands and islets. Its entire land area of 1,703,075 hectares is 54% of MIMAROPA’s total land area and approximately 5% of the national territory. The Philippine’s largest province and fifth largest island in the archipelago, Palawan has an irregular coastline of 1,959 kilometers.

Land Area per Municipality

1st District

Municipality Land Area (HA)
DISTRICT I     772,590
Taytay 125,768
Roxas 117,756
San Vicente 146,294
Coron 68,910
El Nido 92,326
Dumaran 43,500
Busuanga 39,290
Culion 49,959
Araceli 20,430
Linapacan 19,544
Kalayaan 29,000
Cagayancillo 2,639
Cuyo 8,495
Magsaysay 4,948
Agutaya 3,731

2nd District

Municipality Land Area (HA)
DISTRICT II     611,650
Jose Rizal 125,647
Quezon 94,319
Narra 83,173
Bataraza 72,620
Brooke’s Point 130,340
Balabac 58,160
Sofronio Española 47,391

3rd District

Municipality Land Area (HA)
DISTRICT III     318,835
Puerto Princesa City 238,102
Aborlan 80,733
* Source: PSA- Philippine Standard Geographic Code